Unrecognised – Poem

I look in the mirror

Hollow eyes and sucked cheeks

What I see is not what I am

When did I become what I am?

What is this horrific image?

My hand reaches to touch that bony face

Saddened of its coldness

Beautiful they call this image

Beautiful is what they see

But come and knock on my door

Fit in those filthy clothes I wear

Put on those worn shoes

See how far I’ve walked

I’ve seen deserts, forests, and empty mansions

I’ve seen dried seas and frozen oceans

I’ve seen deserted cities, burned forests, and ruined mansions.

 

Image was found here.

Leave a Reply

